Follow Us On:


IMCAT Board of Directors

Click the name to send an e-mail

Wayne Schaper
Spring Branch ISD

Misty Fisher
Arlington ISD

Cherie Crews
Keller ISD

Kathryn Rey
Lewisville ISD

Immediate Past President
Tony Black
Whitehouse ISD

Board Members

Carol Bielke, San Antonio ISD

Laura Cruz, Magnolia ISD

Jill Dorland, Clear Creek ISD

Jeff Funderburgh, Birdville ISD

Linda Gerhart, Barbers Hill ISD

Lynn Grell-Boethel, Columbia-Brazoria ISD

Frank Hernandez III, United ISD

Susan Lenox, Plano ISD

Amy Melching, Georgetown ISD

Kelley Mosley, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD

Winni Petersons, Fort Bend ISD

Rosa Shelton, Houston ISD

Kim Slough, Abilene ISD

Charlene Strickland, Pasadena ISD

Matt Tyner, Dallas ISD

Greg Wright, Leander ISD

Shannon Troester
, Wichita Falls ISD (alt)

Nick Gleicher, Irving ISD (alt)

Executive Director
Cliff Avery, GCP Assoc. Services

> About the P.D. Thomas Award

'Delivering the Future' because that's what we do: Deliver the future — in the form of instructional materials — to Texas schoolchildren.

In 2009, the P.D. Thomas Award was established to honor an outstanding Texas Instructional Material Coordinator for achievement and excellence in the Instructional Materials Administration. P.D. Thomas is a founding father of the Instructional Materials Coordinators Association of Texas (IMCAT) formally, known as Textbook Coordinators Association of Texas (TCAT) formed in 1991.

Award and Sponsor
The P.D. Thomas Award recipient receives a plaque and official recognition during the President’s Lunch at the annual IMCAT Conference.

Performance Criteria
The P.D. Thomas Award recipient will be selected for exhibiting leadership in the following areas:

Selection Procedure
Nominating Committee: consists of three IMCAT Presidents. The current president shall chair the nominating committee and recruit two IMCAT Past-Presidents. The nominating committee will accept nominations, discuss performance criteria, and bring all qualified candidates to the board for a vote at November Board Meeting.  Current IMCAT board members are not allowed to be nominated for the award. Written nominations will be accepted through IMCAT board members. Nominations end November 1st of the selection year.

Previous P.D. Thomas Award Honorees

2009- P.D. Thomas, Allen ISD
2010- Bert Curtis, Garland ISD
2011- Anne Tweedt, Humble ISD
2012- Chuck Kennedy, Irving ISD
2013- Mike Fowler, Pasadena ISD
2014- Ann McGuffey, Duncanville ISD
2015- Karla Christman, Brazosport ISD
2016- Brian Squyres, Northside ISD
2017- Steve Hanson, Galena Park ISD
2018- Abel Villarreal, Corpus Christi ISD